I/GCSE Subjects

I/GCSE is a two-year course. Students starting Year 10 in September will be examined in the summer at the end of Year 11. This is Key Stage 4 of the British National Curriculum.

GCSE is the General Certificate of Secondary Education. (I)GCSE is the International General Certificate of Secondary Education. Both are recognised worldwide.

In the UK there are several Examination Boards which organise and offer British GCSE courses and examinations. Schools are able to choose which board they prefer and may select more than one if they wish. However, some Examinations Boards do not operate outside of the UK. This restricts the choice somewhat for International Schools such as ours. At the moment, for the majority of courses we use Edexcel and Cambridge International Examinations (CIE).

There is a tremendous range of subjects on offer and we have put together a selection which is in line with National Curriculum guidelines and which offers a suitable mix of traditional and more modern subjects. This should ensure that the needs of all pupils are met, from those seeking out very specific academic paths in preparation for University entrance to those preferring a more vocational course.

National Curriculum and (I)GCSE are designed to run hand in hand to meet the needs of all pupils. The grades which are awarded for (I)GCSE range from, A* to G or 9-1 in the newest syllabi and these grades are awarded per subject. (A certificate/diploma is awarded with the subjects taken and grades awarded listed.)

All students are following the core IGCSE subjects:

  • English Language
  • English Literature
  • Mathematics
  • Sports
  • Lengua or Spanish as a Foreign Language
  • Sociales

All students may choose from the following option subjects:

  • Chemistry
  • Biology
  • Art
  • Physics
  • Physical Education
  • ICT
  • German
  • French
  • History
  • Geography
  • Business Studies
  • Astronomy